Twitter has announced that it is testing a new tool that allows users to remove the @username mention from a discussion. The mention highlights and notifies the user when their username is mentioned in a tag or a post.
How do you say “Don’t @ me,” without saying “Don’t @ me”?
We’re experimenting with Unmentioning—a way to help you protect your peace and remove yourself from conversations—available on Web for some of you now. pic.twitter.com/rlo6lqp34H
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) April 7, 2022
Twitter says this will help users take more control of their experience by choosing what conversations they want to be in.
The tool allows users to leave a tagged discussion by clicking on the menu that pops out of the corner of a tweet. Notifications are also stopped once you leave a conversation.
The feature is currently being rolled out for web version.