AFCON2019Q – Timbe Returns As Harambee Stars’ Provisional Squad For Sierra Leone Named


Harambee Stars coach Sebastian Migne has named a 30-man provisional squad for next month’s Afcon 2019 qualifying match against Sierra Leone in Nairobi.

The Group F match is highly doubtful as the Fifa ban on Sierra Leone Football Association (SLFA) remains in force.

China-based speedy winger Ayub Timbe has been handed a maiden call-up under Migne after missing the last three outings due to suspension.

The 26-year-old Beijing Renhe player was given a three-match ban by the Confederation of African Football (Caf) for misconduct in Kenya’s 2-1 loss away to Sierra Leone in the first leg last year.

Timbe is currently enjoying a good form in the Chinese topflight and his return is expected to give more options in attack for Migne.

Also making a return is former Kariobangi Sharks striker Masud Juma, who recently joined Dibba Al Fujairah in the United Arab Emirates.

The French gaffer has also summoned England-based duo of Henry Ochieng and Jonah Ayunga.

Apart from the doubtful fixture against Sierra Leone, Football Kenya Federation (FKF) planning a friendly during the long international break which will run from 12 to 20 November, 2018.

According to sources, Stars are likely to face Senagal in a warm-up during that window.

Provisional Squad


Patrick Matasi (St Georges, Ethiopia), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya)


Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United, South Africa), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya)


Ismael Gonzalez (Las Palmas, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United, Zambia), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Henry Ochieng (Braintree Town, England), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United, Kenya), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Jonah Ayunga (Sutton United, England), Masud Juma (Aj Fujairah, UAE), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka, Kenya)

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Bonface Osano

Communication And Media Student. Sports Writer.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

maasai mara university

Maasai Mara University Operating On Ksh100 Million Deficit – Audit Report

Study Reveals Deadly Bacteria In Mutura That Can Make You Ill Within Hours