in , ,

How Safaricom, Airtel, Telkom Have Shared Counties In Transmission Of Results

The long awaited presidential election is finally here and this time round the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) is hoping to fix the mistakes of the August 8 election.

The have acquired the assistance of mobile network operators Safaricom, Telkom Kenya and Airtel Kenya to help with the transmission of results.

As part of the electoral process the IEBC has equipped result transmission kits with Safaricom SIM cards.

This was done in a effort to eliminate mistakes made in the previous election that saw results from polling stations arrive at the national tallying center before scanned copies of Forms 34A (for polling stations) and 34B (for constituencies).

Read: NASA Reveals Formulae Allegedly Used To Rig Elections

Telkom and Airtel have also adopted Safaricom as a back up system in areas where they are key providers.

To ensure results are transmitted efficiently the three will be responsible for different counties across the country.

Safaricom will cover Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Isiolo, Makueni, Kajiado, Machakos, Embu, Tharaka-Nithi, Meru, Samburu, Marsabit, Turkana, West Pokot, Elgeyo Marakwet Baringo, Kericho, Bomet, Narok, Uasin Gishu and Trans Nzoia.

Airtel Kenya will cover Lamu, Tana River, Kilifi, Mombasa, Kwale, Taita Taveta, Nyeri, Murang’a, Kiambu, Kirinyaga, Nyamira, Kisii, and Homa Bay.

Telkom Kenya will cover Busia, Siaya, Kisumu, Vihiga, Nandi, Kakamega, Bungoma, Nakuru, Nyandarua, Laikipia and Nairobi.

Viewers will also have access to a live feed as they results are updated.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Kahawa Tungu


Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version