Resigned IEBC Commissioners Are Still In Office – Court Declares



Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners who resigned are still in office, the High Court has ruled.

Delivering his judgement, Justice Wilfrida Okwany said that the four commissioners did not follow the right procedure when they stepped down from office.

Justice Okwany noted that the commissioners did not tender their resignation letters to President Uhuru Kenyatta who he says was the appointing authority.

Instead, he said they resigned via a press statement.

Read: Andela Launches Fourth Pan-African Technology Hub In Kigali

The judge then ruled that the commission can conduct the Migori senatorial by-election which is scheduled for October 17, 2018, insisting that the resignations did not affect the composition of the IEBC.

In April 17, 2018, IEBC Vice-chairperson Connie Nkatha Maina, Commissioners Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat resigned, citing lack of confidence in the commission.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Kenyans To Pay More For Petroleum Products As From September

Rich Mavoko

Rich Mavoko Wins Case To Terminate Contract With WCB Records