President Uhuru Declares Vacant Four Commissioner Slots at IEBC

President Uhuru Kenyatta has declared four vacancies in the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

In a gazette notice dated April 14, the head of state urged members of the public to apply for the available slots.


The commission that is headed by Wafula Chebukati has been operating with three commissioners instead of seven after four resigned from their posts.

For the past two years, the commission has not had a substantive CEO. The former chief executive, Ezra Chiloba who is currently a member of the youth fund board was fired over alleged gross misconduct.

Read: IEBC Official Tabitha Mutemi Set To Lose Her Two Jobs As ICT Ministry, IEBC Agree On Illegality In Appointment

Chebukati currently serves with commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye.

The four who resigned are Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya and Connie Maina.

Akombe resigned days before the repeat presidential election on October 26, 2017. She fled to the US on grounds that she had received death threats.

Vice-chairperson Maina, Mwachanya and Kurgat left the commission in April 2018.

Read Also: Chebukati Dismisses Junet’s Claims Of IEBC Sabotaging BBI Signature Verification, Admits Internet Challenges

In 2020, the President signed into law the IEBC (Amendment) Bill, 2019, paving the way for filling the vacant posts.

The President will receive four nominees from the Parliamentary Service Commission, one from the Law Society of Kenya and two from the Inter-Religious Council of Kenya.

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254708677607. You can also find us on Telegram through

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Chase Bank

CBK Nods To Liquidation Of Fallen Chase Bank As Resuscitation Efforts Fail

Michael Olunga Effect: Another Kenyan Player Joins Japanese League