President Kenyatta, DP Ruto To Be Sworn In On 28 August

President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy, William Ruto will be sworn in for a second term in government on Monday, 28 August 2017.

IEBC Chairman, Wafula Chebukati gazetted the re-election of the two Jubilee party leaders and are set to be sworn in in two weeks.

The duo will take the oath in the presence of the public should there be no court case filed before the said date.

Among those invited to the ceremony are former US President Barrack Obama, Paul Kagame, Yoweri Museveni, John Magufuli and Muhammadu Buhari among others.

Uhuru’s opponent, NASA presidential candidate, Raila Odinga has however rejected the presidential results but has declined to take the matter to court saying ‘we have been there before.’

Odinga has refused to concede defeat saying that the election was fraudulent.

Read: Raila Has More than 60 Per Cent, But Here is Why He Won’t Be President

His team, led by Siaya Senator James Orengo said they would communicate on their next course of action.

President Kenyatta was declared the winner of the 2017 presidential election having garnered 8.2 million votes against Odinga’s 6.9 million votes.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version