Political Bigwigs Who Lost in the UDA Primaries

Uda losers
Laikipia Woman Rep Cate Waruguru. [Courtesy]

Deputy President William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) has just concluded its primaries in 38 counties.

On Thursday night, the DP expressed satisfaction with the exercise that kicked off that morning.

“We have delivered at least 60 per cent what the IEBC does with one per cent budget of the IEBC,” said the presidential hopeful.

As for the violent incidents witnessed throughout the day in various polling stations, the DP said the party will take stern action against those found culpable.

Read: UDA Summons 3 Politicians After Nomination Materials Set Ablaze in Embu

“I am a very proud member of UDA. We have demonstrated that it is possible for a party as young as UDA to deliver a credible, believable and democratic election,” he said.

However, with the exercise being said to have been free and fair, some might disagree after they lost in their respective areas.

One of the biggest losers is Laikipia Woman Rep Cate Waruguru who lost to Amin Deddy.

Deddy garnered 12,743 votes against Waruguru’s 5,595, a difference of 7,148 votes.

Read Also: Bomet: Senatorial Aspirant Wilson Sossion Alleges Massive Rigging in UDA Nominations

Deddy will now fly the UDA flag as he contests for the Laikipia East parliamentary seat.

Also being floored in the primaries was Naivasha MP Jayne Kihara.

She lost to her predecessor John Kihagi. Mr Kihagi garnered 10,394 votes against Mrs Kihara’s 9,991.

Thika MP Wainaina Jungle is also counting his losses after he was beaten by Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi for the gubernatorial ticket.

Read Also: UDA’s MC Jessy Drops Out of South Imenti MP Race After Talks with Ruto

The hotly contested race saw the senator get 68,786 votes against Jungle’s 50,446 votes.

Other nominees for the UDA ticket were former Governor Ferdinand Waititu and Eric Muturi.

Though the final results are not out yet, University lecturer Erick Mutai is on the verge of winning the UDA nominations in Kericho against former energy CS Charles Keter.

In Njoro, former Radio presenter Njogu wa Njoroge has conceded defeat.

Read Also: Bungoma Governor Aspirant Protests UDA’s Move To Back Lusaka, Demands Sh500,000 Refund

He lost to sitting MP Charity Kathambi.

“Our ambition, vision and dream for Njoro have been overtaken by a better vision. We are satisfied. I wish Hon Charity Kathambi all the best,” he said.

Ex-chief of staff in the Office of DP Ruto Maryanne Kitany beat Aldai MP Cornelius Serem.

Kitany who also happens to be Meru Senator Mithika Linturi’s estranged wife garnered 16,597 votes while Mr Serem got 13,878.

Read Also: Sakaja Now Seeking Nairobi Governor Seat on UDA Ticket, Denies Joining ANC

Paul Pyego alias Polo defeated Chesumei MP Wilson Kogo.

Polo got 21,370 against 12,980 votes of the incumbent.

Sirikwa MCA Alfred Mutai beat incumbent MP and Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi in the Kuresoi North nominations.

Mutai got 17,247 votes, while Cheboi got 12,454 votes.

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254708677607. You can also find us on Telegram through

Written by Kahawa Tungu


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tech Experts Recommend Addition of 43,000 Km Fibre Cable to Enhance National Connectivity

Ezra Chiloba

CA Extends SIM Registration Deadline by Six Months