National Sevens Circuit Lands Sh4.2 Million Deal From Telkom

national sevens circuit

national sevens circuit

Telkom Kenya has penned a Sh. 4.2 million deal with the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) to become the official “telecommunications partner” of the ongoing 20th National Rugby Sevens Circuit.

KRU unveiled Stanbic Bank as the title sponsor of the popular six-legged circuit in a one-year renewable contract worth Sh. 9m on Monday last week.

This new partnership is a continuation of Telkom’s long-term support for sport, notably Hockey and Athletics in the last 20 years.

“We are excited by the entrance of Telkom as a sponsor for this year’s National Sevens Rugby circuit.

With corporate sponsorships like Telkom’s guaranteeing the game’s growth, the potential to dominate the sport on a global stage in the near future is realistic,” Kenya Harlequins chairman, Lucas Mike, who represented the six host club at the official announcement of the deal said.

Telkom CEO Aldo Mareuse said the sponsorship will act as a launch pad for a long-term partnership with rugby.

“We are confident that we will see demonstrable value in the circuit to grow our investment in the game.

We are cognizant of the importance of corporate sponsorship and involvement in Kenyan sport.

Read: South African Advertising Firm To Partner With Uber Kenya

We have seen first-hand with our other sponsorships, what sports packages, when utilized well can do to the economy,” said Mr. Mareuse.

The telco aims to replicate its’ success, backing continental hockey heavyweights Telkom Ladies Hockey team and world-beating javelin thrower Julius Yego.

The national Seven’s Circuit is an annual series run by KRU, a host of Kenyan clubs and universities across the country. The teams compete by accumulating points on each leg with the overall winner on points declared champions.

The tournament has grown in stature since its inception in 2006 and still has room to grow with the recent addition of regional teams including Kabras, Western Bulls and a host of universities.

The six legs are; Prinsloo Sevens, Sepetuka Sevens, Kabeberi Sevens, Driftwood Sevens, Dala Sevens and the Christies Sevens.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Bonface Osano

Communication And Media Student. Sports Writer.


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Wiper Party

Wiper Democratic Party Resolves To Join Government In Fight Against Corruption


Senator Sakaja Rewards Man After He Was Dumped By Girlfriend For Being Poor (Video)