NASA Senators Walk Out Of Senate Roads Committee Session, Accuse UhuRuto Of Blocking Their Election

Kilifi Senator, Stewart Madzayo
Kakamega Senator, Cleophas Malala

Senators aligned to the National Super Alliance (NASA) on Wednesday accused the powers that be in the Jubilee Party of controlling committee leadership elections.

Speaking at the Parliament Buildings after storming out of a senate committee session, Kilifi’s Stewart Madzayo and Kakamega’s Cleophas Malala said the ruling party on Wednesday frustrated their chances of getting elected to the Roads and Transport committee.

Instead, Kiambu senator, Kimani Wamatangi won the chairperson seat and will be deputised by Godana Hargura (Marsabit).

Blaming their woes on President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto, the legislators noted that nine committees have held elections and none have the chair and vice chair come from an opposition party.


Kilifi Senator, Stewart Madzayo

Read: Kakamega Leaders Gift Raila With A Holy Bible And A Hen For His Birthday

”NASA members are a disappointed lot. Parliamentary committees are not independent, they are controlled from State House,” the dissatisfied legislators said.

Baringo Senator, Gideon Moi on Tuesday was elected chair of Senate’s ICT Committee unopposed.

In the National Assembly on the other hand, ODM MPs bagged most the committee leadership posts, leaving the other parties in the cold.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY



Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tax Relief

Tax Relief For Kenyans As Government Increases Personal Relief Starting This Month


EU Faults Kenyan Government For Failure To Cooperate To Release Observer Mission Findings