NASA Selects John Mbadi As Minority Leader And Junnet Mohamed As Chief Whip


John Mbadi and Junnet Mohamed

Suba Mp, John Mbadi. / COURTESY

The NASA coalition has finally presented the speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi with names for the Minority and Chief Whip positions. Junet Mohamed will be deputized buy Petronilla Were.

The coalition has presented (both from ODM)Suba MP John Mbadi as the minority leader and Suna East Mp Junnet Mohamed as the chief whip. Moses Wetangula will be the minority leader at t the senate and he will be deputized by Siaya ya Senator James Orengo.

The NASA team had not yet submitted the lists to the speaker forcing parliament to take a one month break to allow them to regroup and select the House leadership.

It was alleged that the delay was caused by the coalition’s failure to agree on the nominees with ODM members from the coast claiming that they had been short changed.

READ: Lusaka Leaves Hundreds of Ferried Supporters Stranded After Uhuru’s Inauguration

In October the speaker had also rejected the nomination list that was presented stating that he had received several letters from ODM, Ford K and ANC rejecting the list that had been submitted. The NASA team was told to follow guidelines in the standing Orders before submitting any names.

If these two are accepted, the parliamentary committees would  be formed and house business can be conducted according to the standing orders.

Do you have a story you want told? do you have a sensitive story that you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to



Written by Merxcine Cush

Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version