List Of MPs Bribed To Shoot Down Sugar Report

A list of members of Parliament who apparently received a meagre Sh10,000 and Sh30,000 to shoot down the sugar report has emerged.

According to the list published in one of the weekly newspapers, at least 150 legislators lined up to receive bribes on Thursday August 9 at Parliament buildings.

Some of the names that stand out are; Nixon Korir (Lang’ata), Kimani Ichung’wa (Kikuyu), Isaac Waihenya (Roysambu), Mercy Gakuya (Kasarani), Jude Njomo (Kiambu), Didmus Barasa (Kimilili).

Also appearing on the long list of “shame” is MP Kieni Kanini Kega who is also the chairperson Trade, Industry and Cooperatives committee.

But according to Kanini those who should be probed for rejected report are Majority leader Aden Duale and the minority leader John Mbadi.

“Everybody present at the National Assembly on Thursday will be investigated to tell the truth but Duale and Mbadi must be the first to respond to queries,” he said.

Speaking at Kamariki Catholic Church in Kieni Constituency on Sunday, the legislator noted that the move to reject the report was “premeditated” mostly because it mentioned people in power.

The report, should it have gone through would haveseen CSs Adan Mohamed and Henry Rotich held accountable for the mercury laced sugar.

“It is shameful that an elected leader can take money to shoot down a report that cost the taxpayers millions of money. Some leaders are not setting a good example to Kenyans,” he said.

Also on the list is: Bernard Koros (Soin), Nelson Koech (Belgut), Bady Twalib (Jomvu), Ali Mbogo (Kisauni), Omar Shimbwa (Changamwe), Japheth Mutai (Bureti), Michael Kingi (Magarini), Silvanus Maritim (Ainamoi), Owen Baya (Kilifi North), Hilary Kosgei (Kipkelion West), Richard Kiti (Kilifi South), Joseph Kirui (Kipkelion East), Joseph Oyula (Butula), Dominic Koskei (Sotik), Geoffrey Omuse (Teso South), Gideon Koskei (Chepalungu), Geoffrey Odanga (Matayo), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East) and Ernest Kivai (Vihiga).

Victor Munyaka (Machakos Town), Martha Wangari (Gilgil), Francis Kimani (Molo), Abdi Ibrahim (Lafey), Adan Haji (Mandera South), Adan Keynan (Eldas), Naomi Shaban (Taveta), John Waluke (Sirisia), Ali Wario (Bura), Ali Guyo (Garsen) and Annie Wanjiku (Gatundu North) are also appearing on the list.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version