Lusaka Assures Senate Looking For Solution To Revenue Stalemate After Governors Threatened To Shut Down County Operations

Senate is working towards finding a solution to the contentious Revenue Allocation Formula that has divided the House, speaker Ken Lusaka has said.

Speaking in Bungoma, Lusaka assured Kenyans that the lawmakers will not stop until a solution to the stalled discussions is found.

“Senate is the defender of devolution, as a protector of counties we cannot allow them to starve. I want to assure Chairman Council of Governors Wycliffe Oparanya that the Senate will not allow services to halt in devolved units.

He added: “As a house we will spare no effort in ensuring that the matter is completely resolved, and there is no fight over revenue every financial year, like it has been the norm.”

On Thursday, Council of Governors (CoG) issued a warning that counties could shut down in two weeks if the revenue sharing stalemate continues.

Read: Governors Call For DCI, EACC To Probe Senate Public Accounts Committee Over Extortion

In a statement, the governors said that they will be forced to send all employees on leave on September 17, which will see devolved services paralysed.

“If the prevailing situation persists, effective Thursday September 17, Counties will have no choice but to shut down. Consequently, we shall release all county employees to proceed on leave until an amicable solution on the issue is reached,” chairman Wycliffe Oparanya said.

The governors also threatened to sponsor a motion that will see the Senate dissolved for failing to safeguard the interests of County Governments.

“To this end, we hereby forewarn the Senate that a Petition for its dissolution can be initiated by any member of the public through the High Court as provided for under Article 258 of the Constitution,” the statement said.

On August 17, the Senate failed for a record ninth time to reach an agreement on the County Revenue sharing formula suggested by the Commission for Revenue Allocation (CRA).

Read Also: Do Not Drag Me Into Senate Debate, My Deeds Will Speak Louder – Uhuru

Instead, a 12-member select committee was formed to try and break the stalemate, but it has been unable to get an agreeable formula two weeks later.

Among the senators were nominated the committee include Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi), Mohamud Mohamed (Mandera), Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) and Anwar Loitiptip (Lamu).

Others include Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (Makueni), Moses Wetangula (Bungoma), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Samson Cherargey (Nandi), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), John Kinyua (Laikipia) and Ledama Olekina (Narok).

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254708677607. You can also find us on Telegram through

Written by Francis Muli

Follow me on Twitter @francismuli_. Email

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kanu Condemned For Expelling Four Female West Pokot MCAs Over Misconduct

I Will Create 5 Million Jobs In 3 Years, Alfred Mutua Says As He Launches 2022 Presidential Bid