Kenya Among Countries Whose Nationals Won’t Be Permitted To Enter EU As Boarders Reopen


Kenyans won’t be permitted to travel to any of the European Union countries as the block reopens its external borders tomorrow, Wednesday, July 1.

The EU has settled on a list of 15 countries whose nationals will not be restricted as it reopens its borders.

Rwanda is the only East African country whose nationals will be granted entry, according to the list proposed by EU diplomats.

China is on the list but only on the condition that EU citizens are allowed to travel to the country as well.

The United States, which continues to record a high number of Coronavirus cases is also not on the list. The US has so far recorded over 2.6 million cases and over 128,000 deaths.

Read: 10 Year Old Boy Stranded In Nairobi Due To Coronavirus Pandemic Set To Be Reunited With Family In Dubai

Other countries barred include Brazil and Russia.

The other 13 countries on the approved list are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

According to Euronews, a European pay television news network, headquartered in Lyon, France, the criteria used to select the countries was based on epidemiological data.

Read Also: EPRA Warns Against Hoarding of Petroleum Products, Assures Public of Sufficient Stocks

So far, Kenya has recorded 6,366 cases with 148 deaths.

On the other hand, Rwanda has confirmed 1,001 cases and two deaths since the outbreak of Covid-19 in the country.

The latest comes at a time Kenya is preparing to resume domestic flights and later international flights depending on the advise the experts will give President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254708677607. You can also find us on Telegram through

Written by Wycliffe Nyamasege


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

176 Test Positive For COVID-19 As Toll Rises To 6,366

gender bill vote deferred

Two MPs Have Contracted Coronavirus – Speaker Muturi Confirms