Chief Justice Maraga Appoints Five Judges To Determine Fate of DCJ Mwilu

CJ David Maraga
CJ David Maraga

Chief Justice David Maraga has named five judges who will hear and determine the case of Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu.

The judges: Justice Hellen Omondi, Justice Mumbi Ngugi, Justice Francis Tuiyott, Justice William Musyoka and Justice Chacha Mwita will determine the case made by DPP Noordin Haji against DCJ Mwilu.

The case will be mentioned on Monday November 5 and will determine the precedence of whether sitting judges should be charged for criminal crimes committed outside their duty and whether judges will stay immune from prosecution while on duty.

Justice Mwita had argued that even though the case can be heard by one Judge, the issues to be determined would require more than one judge to interpret.

“Although the present case can be heard by a single judge, the issues that are to be determined would have a material bearing on the independence of the Judiciary,” ruled Justice Mwita.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to  Also WhatsApp 0708677607 with your news tips

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bodyguards Kept At Bay In Uhuru, Raila, Ruto ‘Lunch’ Meeting

al ahly, es tunis

Al Ahly One Foot Into The Champions League Ninth Heaven