Jubilee, Nasa MPs Set Differences Aside For Hefty Pay Perks

Photo Courtesy
Photo Courtesy

After the outgoing Sarah Serem led Salaries and Remuneration Committee massively slashed their pay pack, MPs in Opposition and ruling party set aside differences for what they know best- rooting for their pockets.

Yesterday, the Mps started the process of amending rules to increase the size of house committees thus allowing each of the 349 legislators to belong to at least two committees.

Nasa despite refusing to give names of members for appointment committee tasked with vetting cabinet nominees, they gave out names for House business, procedure and rules and selection committees with ODM bagging 11 out of 16 names Nasa submitted.

Majority leader Aden Duale said through the two national assembly Whips both for Jubilee and Opposition, the house will make possible amendments so that all the over 300 lawmakers can each belong to a departmental and select committee “comfortably.”

READ: NASA Resolves To Not Be Part Of House Committees, Parliament Illegally Constituted

Speaker Justin Muturi is said to be in agreement even as others  argue that this was a bait to have Nasa agree to being part of appointment committee.

The MPs are set to receive Sh5,000 per sitting in each committee so belonging to two brings it to Sh10,000 and the committees are known to sit quite frequently within a month since most legislative work is now done in committees as opposed to open chambers for debate.

Mps are said to be jostling for committees that are said to sit frequently and where there are perks and bribes like the Public Accounts Committee.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your News tips to


Written by Kahawa Tungu


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Jamii Launches Faiba 4G Mobile, Offers Free Voice Calls and Cheap Data Bundles


Is Trump’s Administration Initiating Dialogue Between Raila And President Kenyatta?