Churchill Otieno Takes Over From Linus Kaikai As KEG Chairman


Churchill Otieno (Centre in white). /Courtesy

In an meeting that was held today morning at the Nairobi Club, the Kenya Editors Guild Committee has elected Nation Media’s Digital Editor, Churchill Otieno as the new Chairman of the Committee.

The award- winning journalist takes over from Linus Kaikai who announced his exit earlier today. He is assisted by Maina Chege of KBC as the Deputy Chairperson.

Read: ODM Appoints Sifuna As Secretary General At National Governing Council Meeting

Other committee members include Christine Nguku as Secretary General, Hassan Kulundu as Deputy Secretary.

Arthur Okwemba as Treasurer and Francis Openda as Assistant Treasurer.

Mark Agutu as Legal Secretary, Dr George Nyabuga as the Innovation Secretary and Robin Njogu the Digital Secretary.

The Membership Secretaries are Linda Bach and Joan Pereruan.

Part of the Guild’s objectives include promoting standards of journalism, the independence of media and to advice members on issues of practical and ethical concern.Another objective is also to represent members’ interests in all matters of editorial and professional concern and interest.

Outgoing Chairman, Linus Kaikai wished the Editors well in their journey ahead.

Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to

Written by Merxcine Cush

Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version