Kenyan Driver Carl “Flash” Tundo Wins Equator Rally

Kenyan driver Carl “Flash” Tundo defied torrential rains and muddy conditions to storm to his first Africa Rally Championship (ARC) Equator Rally victory in Naivasha.

On his very first outing with the Minti Motorsports VW Polo R5, the five-time Safari Rally winner thrived through wet conditions as he led the Kenya round of the continental series from start to finish.

Tundo’s prowess in the wet and slippery roads of Leg One’s Soysambu section in Naivasha on Sunday earned him a massive 12:08.6 minutes margin victory over compatriot Tejveer Rai (VW Polo R5) Jas Mangat completed the podium position in the dash in a time of 03:03:32.1.

South African Guy Botterill (Toyota Etios R5) was time-barred at service while lying third.

Read: Safari Rally Grand Return Postponed To Next Year Over Coronavirus

Tundo scored back-to-back fastest times on the Malewa and Loldia sections to extend his lead to 10:10.3 minutes after the 53.72km three-stage loop.

Onkar Rai was fastest through the Kedong stage.

Tundo, who is known to be the master of muddy conditions, had dominated Saturday’s Soysambu leg, where he claimed the day’s six stages to build a massive 07:15.1 minutes lead over compatriot Tejveer Rai.

The two-day event claimed top drivers former winner Baldev Chager, Onkar Rai and Ian Duncan on Day 1 but who rejoined the race on Leg 2 on the ‘Super Rally’ rule which allows competitors to restart but suffer penalties of each stage missed.

Tundo won six of the 11 stages. After the victory, he said: “It’s amazing. It’s always good to win. I am not going for the ARC obviously, but I am happy to get maximum points in the first event.”

He added: “Had it not been for Onkar Rai snatching the Kedong stage, I would have won all the 11 stages. The volcanic ash soil in Kedong gave us a little more grip so it was actually a really nice stage. I drove the last loop like a granny as I had a healthy lead and didn’t want to risk anything. The essence was to just get the car back in one piece.”

Read Also: Safari Rally Back On World Rally Championship After 18 Year Hiatus

South Africa’s Botterill extended his lead on the ARC log with 50 points but candidly admitted his Toyota R5 car took quite a beating.

“We struggled quite a bit on Leg 2 on the Kedong stage. Our car once again suffered overheating. It was a really tough stage for us. We took it cautiously as no one risked pushing. We just needed to score points without any damage. The WRC is going to be a very long and hard event,” said Botteril.


1. Carl Tundo / Tim Jessop (KEN-Volkswagen Polo) 02:34:08.8 hours

2. Tejveer Rai/ Gareth Dawe (KEN-Volkswagen Polo) 02:46:17.4

3.  Jas Mangat (UG-Mitsubishi Evolution 10)  03:03:32.1

4. Giancarlo Davite/ Sylvia Vindevogel  (RWA-Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 03:06:39.1
5. Hamza Anwar/RIyaz Ismail  (KEN- Subaru Impreza GVB)  03:10:08.2

6. Onkar Rai/Drew Sturrock (KEN-Volkswagen Polo)  03:11:18.5

7.  Jasmeet Chana/ Ravi Chana (KEN-Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 03:13:38.7

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254708677607. You can also find us on Telegram through

Written by Eva Nyambura

Content creator at | Passionate about telling the untold story. Lover of life, music and technology. Simplicity is KEY


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ethiopian Airlines Launches Covid-19 Testing at Bole Int’l Airport Hub

Michael Olunga Ranked Among Top Performers In Asian Champions League