Users will now be able to unsend messages sent to a group or individual within seven minutes of sending the message.
Those interested in deleting a message after sending will now be given an option called “delete for everyone”. This options removes the message from the sender and receivers phone. The message will then be replaced by another message that says “This message has been deleted.”
“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat, or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” read a note by WhatsApp.
For the new feature to work both the sender and receiver must have updated to the latest version of WhatsApp. The sender will also be notified if deleting the message for everyone was successful.
Users who want to delete a message should follow these steps:
- Open the WhatsApp chat with the message(s)
- Tap and hold the message
- Select the Delete option from the menu
- Select the message(s) you intend to delete
- Tap Delete – Delete for Everyone
The new feature is currently being rolled out to its 1.3 billion user base and should be available for all WhatsApp users soon.
Do you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to [email protected]