government officials
President Uhuru Kenyatta addresses the nation

The President has banned all government officials from leaving the country without his clearance.

In a letter dated 13 September, Chief of Staff and head of Public Service, Joseph Kinyua says the ban takes effect on the said date.

”This is to notify you that it has been decided, until further advised otherwise, no government official will travel outside the country without clearance from the President,” the letter reads in part.

The Chief of staff further clarifies that the officials include Cabinet secretaries and their Principal Secretaries.

”For avoidance of any doubt, the officials in reference include Cabinet secretaries, Principal secretaries and officers in ministries, Chief executive officers of parastatals and their officers, and Board of Directors of parastatals.”

Read: IEBC Chairman Makes Staff Changes, Replaces ICT Director Muhati

presidentDo you have a story you want told? Do you know of a sensitive story you would like us to get our hands on? Email your news TIPS to [email protected]